Voters Say 'No' to 'Building Durango's Future' Slate


Erika Brown, Rick Peterson, and Andrea Parmenter will take seats on the Durango School District 9-R Board of Directors. Lawsuit still pending. Sponsored by Express Employment Professionals and Happy Pappy's Pizza and Wings

Learn More...

Read the Full Transcript

More than 42% of eligible voters in Durango School District 9-R cast ballots to elect three board candidates, in one of the most contentious school board elections in years. You're watching the Local News Network brought to you by Express Employment Professionals and Happy Pappy's Pizza n Wings, I'm Wendy Graham Settle. Durango School District 9-R voters said no to the three Durango School Board candidates who ran as a slate called "Building Durango's Future". Incumbent Erika Brown defeated challengers Catherine Mewmaw and Kristina Paslay with 65% of the vote in District A. Newcomer Rick Peterson defeated Richard Hill was 68% of the vote to take the seat in District C. And Andrea Parmenter won a decisive victory over Donna Gulec with 70% of the vote to take the seat for District E. Parmenter had represented District D but resigned in September after moving into District E in August. Paslay, Hill, and Gulec ran on a common platform that focused on what they claimed was poor student performance and opposition to the district's mask mandates. The election also has generated a pending lawsuit against the 9-R School Board and District Election Official, Julie Popp. Some district residents claimed that Parmenter actually moved out of District D last spring and illegally continued to represent the district on the school board. School board members must live in the district they represent. District residents, Christina McMunn, Cam Formby, Cathy Patterson and Stanley Patterson, filed the lawsuit in October asking the court to order a special election for District D. To see a final tally, visit the La Plata County Clerk's website at Thanks for watching, I'm Wendy Graham Settle.


Need more  Local DURANGO News?

News for Locals. By Locals.
Editorial Policy | Copyright © Local News Network Inc. All Rights Reserved. | Privacy Policy